Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-06-11 - 9:11 a.m.

Oh great. Homeschoolers won the spelling and geography bees again. Please don't quiz me. I don't even know all my capitols yet and I still get help with spelling from whoever is near. One time some kids at the Peach Festival drilled us on math facts while we were waiting in line to ride the camel. They were public schoolers with an attitude.

I found another blackberry patch behind the workshop. The berries are especially fat and juicy. We made a sauce for our dessert that had blackberries, sucanat, lemon juice, and brandy. You cook it up syrupy.

Normally we make pound cake from scratch but some Sarah Lee pound cakes in aluminum loaf pans were on sale so Mom bought two. They were good enough and a lot less trouble. We sliced the cake and put it in the bottom of the dessert dishes. Then we put on a scoop of vanilla ice cream and poured on some blackberry brandy sauce. The brandy made the sauce more powerful. The flavor was sophisticated, and I was sorry when it was over.

We made a pasta dinner from a recipe on a cooking blog by Miss Eva and her mother because we already had the ingredients. The recipe was very garlicy and it went great with just plain old frozen vegetables microwaved.

I found a king snake yesterday because a momma cat was walking circles around it. When I got closer, that snake got so mad at me! It curled up, lifted and pulled its head back like it was a cobra. I called James and Spencer. After we took its picture we let it go near our play area in the woods at the end of the zip line because they eat copperheads and water moccasins.


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!