Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-06-02 - 8:35 a.m.

Early this morning Mom and I put on our clogs and went out to pick berries for our pancake breakfast. There weren't any ripe blueberries yet. We're just happy some of our bushes survived that last freeze we had.

When we got to the blackberry bushes, we could see thousands and thousands of ripe blackberries. Unfortunately, blackberries have stickers which are little thorns. Mom had on her sleeping pants but she made her way into the thicket anyway because there weren't any ripe berries on the path.

When we got into the center of ripe berries we encountered ant mounds and ants on berries and a great possibility of snakes under all the logs. The stickers held our clothes and pricked our arms. We also had to knock off ants. I got bit a few times. They itch. We faced an awful lot of trouble. It was man vs. ants, stickers, and snakes. That's why I named this entry "The Deadliest Pick."

Once we got inside, we washed the ants and debris off our berries and made tasty whole wheat blackberry pancakes with real maple syrup and bacon. Dad said they were fantastic. Everybody loved them. Too bad Sarah wasn't here to enjoy the first pick of the year.

We all miss Sarah Grace and I realized she does a lot more around here than I said in my tribute to her. It's like how you learn how much you really use the electricity when the power goes out.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!