Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2009-06-16 - 12:13 p.m.

Yesterday I was bitten by a snake. I picked it up the wrong way... by the head. I don't know what I was thinking. I was trying to keep it from biting me, but I must have scared it, so it bit me. Don't ask why I thought picking it up by the head would keep it from biting me. My mother keeps asking me that same question. I was just caught in the moment, or something. Fortunately it wasn't poisonous. Unfortunately Spencer took his time telling me that. It was about 3ft. long and an inch thick. It held on for about 15 or 20 seconds before I was able to flick it off.

I heard a terrible story one time about a man who cut off a poisonous snake's head, and then the head jumped up and bit him. I hope that is an urban legend because that's petrifying to me.

Mrs. Sarah, my British lady-friend, is all excited that I'm into Shakespeare. She wrote in my comments about it and how she performed in Romeo and Juliet and King Lear. My dad heard about it and yesterday he went by the library and picked up King Lear (the one with Ian Holm), two versions of Julius Caesar (one with Charlton Heston and one with Marlon Brando), and two versions of Hamlet (one with Kenneth Branagh and one with Laurence Olivier.)

Last night we started King Lear and now I know why they call my mother's father that. King Lear had three daughters and the youngest loved him a lot but she told him the truth, and not what he wanted to hear, so he ditched her. I only saw the first part because I fell asleep so I don't know how many ways it is like my mother, but I was amazed at how much it is alike. I know how much my mother loves her father, even though his heart's not right, because we pray for him every single day. He talks to her every now and then, but he doesn't have a relationship with her.

I didn't fall asleep because I was bored; I was tired. I was tired because Dad took us swimming yesterday. And, by the way, my swimming is MUCH better. We did the can-opener, the seat-drop, and lots of cannonballs, too. We played water volleyball with one of those little water balls that soak up water. James and I were awesome but Dad and George owned us.

When we came back to the house, Sarah Grace and Mom were making supper with things from our garden. We had whole grain rice and gravy, fried okra, cucumber/Vidalia onion/tomato salad, and grilled onions/squash/zucchini. We also had lemonaid. Fried okra is a great treat for our family because everybody loves it! It was a fantastic meatless night. Sometimes they make gravy on meatless nights because it has a meat feeling- so do grilled vegetables. Besides swimming, my full happy belly is another reason I couldn't stay awake.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!