Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2009-03-23 - 3:33 p.m.

This St. Patrick's Day was my best St. Patrick's Day so far. We don't normally celebrate St. Patrick's Day because we are neither Irish nor Roman Catholic. If St. Patrick used the shamrock, a three-leafed clover, to teach the people of Ireland the truth of the trinity (that God is three in one) then, well, great! But we have no idea if St. Patrick was really born again or not.

Anyway, we had a feast. The first course was potato cheddar ale soup but it was made with Killian's Red because that is what we had. We also had Guinness in the refrigerator but that wouldn't taste good because Guinness has a smokey taste like it was kept in a burnt oak barrel. I'm not an expert on beer because I'm just a kid and I haven't tasted the world of beer, but I think I would like Guinness if I was a logger, or an adventurer on the high seas, but not in my potato cheddar soup.

The soup was magnifico, especially with the round loaf of Irish soda bread Sarah made from whole wheat. Mom let us each have a Dixie cup of Killian's Red and it was delicious! It felt soothing. I felt like a man in the middle ages tearing my bread and drinking my beer.

All that was in the late afternoon and then later Mom made a blender full of Bailey's Frozen Russian. It has Bailey's Irish Cream, vodka, chocolate liqueur, and vanilla ice cream. Ours were mostly ice cream but we could taste the flavors. That was the best drink I've ever had!

Finally, we had the main course of glazed corned beef, cabbage, and carrots. It was superb! The corned beef was tender and flavorful and the cabbage and carrots were cooked in the water with the spices.

I pinched some brothers and some brothers pinched me but I finally gave George one of my green shirts because I'm that kind of brother. Frankly, wearing green doesn't stop our older brothers from pinching us anyway. It's just gonna happen on March 17th.

We saw East of Eden, the James Dean one. We read the book awhile ago. Mom wants us to see the mini-series with Jane Seymour. Hopefully Ma will order it from Netflix because neither the libraries nor the video stores have that version here.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!