Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2009-03-10 - 3:56 p.m.

I haven't written lately because last week Ma went to the hospital. She had very bad chest pains and called Mom and the EMS at 1 AM. Mom stayed with her in the hospital for a couple of days and then at her house once they let Ma out of the hospital. Thankfully she didn't have another heart attack but she might have some kind of blockage for which they gave her pills. Since I'm not allowed to go online when my mother isn't home, it has been awhile since I wrote.

Sarah did a great job feeding us while Mom was away. She made chicken salad and turkey and she also made a new whole wheat bread recipe that is lighter than our usual recipe. It is more like sandwich bread. She also made sourdough bread which took a week or so on the counter before it was ready to bake. It is very healthy and made with spelt instead of wheat. At first I didn't like it because it tasted so different, but then she put raw honey on it and I loved it! Now that I'm used to it, I like it without the honey. Sometimes you have to get used to new flavors, especially when you expect it to taste a certain way. Sarah always makes good things and she makes our house smell so nice like a lovely home.

Another thing she made was Yorkshire pudding from the drippings of a roast. I was expecting it to be really bad like some kind of mush that an Oliver Twist type peasant would eat. I'd only barely even heard of it. I think Sharpe ate it during the Napoleonic War, but I'm not sure. Even though we thought it would be nasty, we loved it! Mom was sorry she missed it because she's never had it either.

We've had the windows up because it has gotten hotter and in the South it gets hot fairly quickly. We can hear the toads croaking on the pond and the crickets, birds, squirrels, and frogs. Even though the neighborhood has come alive, the sounds are sleepy and make you want to take a nap.

I pulled out one of George's baby teeth today. He told me I could play with his cap gun for 30 days if I pulled his tooth out. It wasn't easy because it was wedged in between two big teeth-- but I have my ways! I pushed it backwards waaaay back until I heard that crackling sound it makes. Then, I pulled it forward and yanked it downward. Out it popped! Georgi didn't know what had happened until he saw my grin and looked in my hand and then he started jumping up and down with excitement. Unfortunately, I think he's planning on getting rich this way.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!