Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2008-08-15 - 9:45 p.m.

CATS (Spoiler Alert!)

I saw CATS for the first time. If you've never seen it, you should. Those actors had moves just exactly like cat moves even down to their little twitches. I know because we have cats and I was amazed.

We usually get on a roll with things. Let's say we're studying the Revolutionary War. We'll go from book to book and movie to movie. We make costumes and learn songs or poetry or weapons or whatever.

James usually gets on a roll with different times in history. I get on a roll with jobs like being a chef or an engineer or a politician or a playwright.

We're on a two-way roll right now. We're into musicals, and after those of us who don't remember Les Miserables see it again, we'll be on a roll with French Literature, but some of the older kids read different books than the Young Guns. Mom also got Evita which is not French, but it is a musical.

I love musicals. I want to write one because I've had an idea but I need to hire Andrew Lloyd Webber to help with the music. And to help me with spelling because that always slows me down. It's about a holy woman and it is based on my mother.

CATS is based on Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats by T. S. Eliot. Mom read these poems to us. I love The Rum Tum Tugger. He is one of my favorite characters even though "he will do as he do do and there's no doing anything about it!" The girls all think he's sexy and love him even if he ditches them.

Georgi is scared of Macavity.

The girl who played Jennyanydots reminded me of Shirley McClain. Shirley McClain has a good face to play Jennyanydots.

I'm glad autumn is coming because we have tea time and read great books on the deck.

Grizabella is really a great singer. I had pity for her because she lost her sparkle and everybody shunned her. I felt like at the end she got born again.

One piece of music in CATS sounds exactly like a tune in The Phantom of the Opera.

I spent the night at Ma's house last night. We had cream soda and Chick-fil-A and this morning we went to The Pancake House and I had chocolate chip pancakes. I pushed off the whipped cream because it tasted fake like the stuff in the can. The chocolate milk tasted funny because I'm used to whole raw milk, but the pancakes were delicious.

I want my restaurant with Johnny Browder's wife, B.J., to be like that, where everybody knows each other. It gives me a homey feeling to see men slap each other on the back when they pass their booth or greet at the cash register. It's like that in Sweet Home Alabama where everybody knows each other's business.

I've almost learned all the Phantom's songs. Sarah Grace helped me and she sings Christine's part for me. James is such a great singer but he hardly ever sings. I would love to have a talent like his so it frustrates me and I don't understand it.

I made a mask and a cape, too.

I wish Mom would let me wear hair gel because before I went to Ma's house I styled my hair perfectly artistic and as soon as I went out.... POOF!.... and I was windblown.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!