Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-07-07 - 12:26 p.m.

Some big things have happened this week. Our trip to Washington DC was probably the last time we had so many days in a row with so many exciting things.

On Tuesday we went to the theater and saw "Ratatouille." Mom took us and it was George and Richard's first time in the theater other than Imax theaters.

"Ratatouille" was about a rat that was a chef. It was the perfect movie for me because I'm the big chef in our family and he was the big chef in his family. I loved the scene when he was on the rooftop and he saw the sparkling lights of Paris with the Eiffel Tower. Later, he got his own room on a window sill with all of Paris as his view. It made us all want to go to Paris. We each got our own popcorn and drink, too. Next time we'll probably share because it is a waste of money but that was a fun thing to do for George and Richard's first time.

The next thing that happened was The Fourth of July. During the day we just stayed at home and went swimming in the swimming pool, rode James' motorcycle, and ate watermelon. Then we went to the Peach Festival and got peach ice cream and watched the professional firework show.

Thursday, Dr. Kittell came with his teenage daughter to shear our sheep only she didn't shear, she just visited. Dr. Kittell is a vet but he only does vet work sometimes because he is sort of retired except he has a big farm and lots of sheep. He has special sheep that don't get parasites. We might buy a horse from him. Dr. Kittell is very smart and so is his daughter. She is also really funny. She is smart funny but not mean sarcastic. We all hope we'll see them again soon.

Yesterday was the big day we were looking forward to. Johnny Browder and his wife invited us to their house to swim and play tennis and eat slaw dogs.

Before we got there each of us chose a different long stemmed flower to give Mrs. B.J. when we greeted her. When she came downstairs we were all standing there ready with a flower and kisses and hugs to give her. All our flowers together made a big beautiful bouquet for her dining room table.

I made really big friends with her because she loves to cook too. She's not big on baking but she loves to try new dishes. She's like THE dish person! We talked a lot about cooking and she showed me all her cookbooks.

She went in the pool to play with us and George and I chased her and tickled her feet and she acted like she was being attacked by sharks! We laughed and splashed and teased and we can't wait to go back!

Johnny Browder didn't go swimming but he heated the coals to make the Nathan's hotdogs. He had an interesting grill from, I think, the eighties called a Weber. I've seen old shows that had that kind of grill.

Those slaw dogs were the best in the world! Johnny Browder made the chili the day before and I think they picked up the slaw from either Maurice's or Rush's. I ate two and I was just like the food critic, Anton Ego, in "Ratatouille" when he dropped his pen. He took a bite of the Ratatouille and dropped his pen in ecstacy. I took a bite of the slaw dog that was loaded with everything and I dropped my napkin in ecstacy. The cold coleslaw gives the hotdog a fresh taste that goes perfect with the heavy chili. You just have to try it if you've never had it. It is a Southern thing.

Johnny Browder has a voice like an old cowboy. I understand him all the time but some of the kids can't always make out what he's saying. He gets deep and crackly like people who sound like they have gravel stuck in their throat. He's laid back and very hospitable. They paid for everything and wouldn't let us bring anything and they let us stay from 12:30PM until nearly 8:00PM and they didn't want us to leave. And they meant it!

They are perfect for each other and perfect for us and we love them very much. We should be best friends.

Mrs. B.J. and I are already planning our restaurant. I came home and found blue paper to make the blueprints except it is kind of aqua-blue. That's all I could find.

I've been thinking that maybe we don't want to waste money, so we might want to fix up an historic house and have a restaurant that is like a bed and breakfast restaurant or maybe a place like Mrs. Wilkes Boarding House in Savannah.

There's so much to decide but we have time since I'm only eight. My excitement wants to do it now though. Maybe Mrs. B.J. and I can practice making different dishes in the meantime.

It was such a great week and today we slept until 8:00AM!


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!