Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-05-16 - 8:44 a.m.

I'm writing without a shirt on. I just came in from morning chores and when I looked down, my shirt was covered in ants! I have no idea where I got the ants from unless it was when I was watering the tomatoes and peppers.

You might remember me telling you about a new lamb with a black polka dot on her left foot. Last week she got bumped or something and she was dragging a leg. Dad took her to the vet but it wasn't broken. It was hot so we put her on an antibiotic which kills infection.

On Saturday morning she was weak and not nursing so we brought her in. Mom and Sarah Grace stayed up with her for 48 hours to hold her and pet her and bottle feed her every two hours. They tried to keep her going with drench and enemas, but on Monday she didn't make it.

Mom came outside to tell us and I burst into tears because I really loved that little lamb. Sometimes the farm animals become pets that you love with purity and when Mom told me she was dead, my heart broke. I went into Mom's arms and tears shot out of my stinging eyes.

While Mom was holding me we heard Will hollering from the pasture. We listened again and Will was yelling that a ewe just had a lamb! We ran down there and she had twins! I was amazed. My sorrow turned to joy but I still missed the other lamb. If you really, really, love something and it dies, it can't be replaced, but you can still have joy about other things.

Don't feel too sorry for me because farmers have to be strong about these things. Ever since Adam and Eve sinned, there is death. Sin corrupted genes and everything so there is death and disease and sickness. Farmers get used to animals dying, but it will always be sad for me.

Last week we got a new Jennair stove with three bays! Two men came and cut up our counter because the stove is much bigger than our old one. Our old stove only had one burner working. Mom had a fit trying to keep food warm at Christmas and Thanksgiving. We've had fun grilling lots of things and cooking two things at once. I want to grill pineapple and chicken and onions and peppers and French bread slices all buttered up. Mom said I can if I am very careful not to burn myself. You can't let down your guard when you cook on the grill.

Soon I'll tell you about Mother's Day and going to work with Dad yesterday.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!