Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-04-09 - 3:49 p.m.

I made the Jello salad like I planned. I used raspberry Jello with tropical fruit. The Jello part was a red color but more pink than red. Actually, it was the color of raspberry which is like magenta. It was beautiful and delicious.

The ham had a tender cooked taste that I love. It was moist and flavorful with a sweet crust. The asparagus and onions were roasted perfectly. The onions were slightly sweet and totally different from raw onions. I hate raw onions except for Vidalia onions.

The mashed potatoes had a weird taste to them because they had swiss cheese and bacon bits. I love it but I can't describe it. It had a sour taste but a good sour taste. We had biscuits too. That's all we made because we were in a hurry to get to Ma's.

Not everyone went to Ma's because some of us have had sore throats and colds. We weren't sure if we had colds or if the pollen had gotten to us. We've been taking echinacea and zinc and Mom made tea with rooibos which is pronounced (ROY-boss). It also has marshmallow root and licorice for the soreness in our throats and ginger to loosen up the bad stuff and sage for the oil to coat our throats. I think the tea is what healed me. I was perfectly well for Easter.

The best part of the whole day was when we woke up and went into the den and beside our baskets we each had a box with a colorful ribbon and inside were brand new black real leather Bibles with our names written in golden letters! Mine and Will's have indexes because we like indexes. Mine has center column references and colorful maps and each page has a golden edge! When Dad read for Bible time we all read along with our new Bibles. (Webb got a kid's song DVD and George and Richard got picture Bibles.) It was exciting and the leather feels so good.

Our new Bibles weren't a surprise because my parents wanted us to pick exactly what we wanted. There are many things to choose from like: center column references, Jesus' words in red letters, which version, font, size, indexes, concordance, maps, footnotes, color, and how you want your name written. Even though it wasn't a surprise, it was still exciting to finally hold it.

When we went to Ma's she gave Momma her grandmother's Bible. That would be my great-great grandmother. It was given to her on Christmas of 1916 by her two sons. One of her sons was my great grandfather. He was Mom's grandfather and Ma's father. Her name was Mary Margaret Waring and she begat George Webb Waring and he begat Mary Sue Waring (Ma) and she begat Amanda Franklin Allen (Mom) and she begat me, John Anton Allen. The Bible has dates of births and deaths and papers and also a pressed flower that my mother is going to have framed.

It got very cold here. Our azaleas are kaput. They were the best they've ever been. Everybody said it was an especially beautiful spring with great big full blooms and now it is all turning brown. The farmers were trying very hard to save their peaches.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!