Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-01-01 - 11:00 p.m.

You're not going to believe what happened last night. I fell asleep before the ball dropped! I woke up at 4:31AM and I realized I had missed it and I was really sad. I just laid down at Mom and Dad's bedroom door and cried myself back to sleep on the floor. I had waited so long to see the ball drop!

When Mom woke up she almost stepped on me in the hall. She woke me up and asked me why I was in the hall and I told her I missed the ball drop. She said it wasn't that big of a deal and even Dick Clark counted down wrong so it didn't matter and we would celebrate tonight. And we did!

Mom made a traditional Southern New Year's supper. We had pork loin and collards and black-eyed peas and cornbread. They used to put a dime in the black-eyed peas and whoever got it would make the most money. We didn't do that part because money is filthy and we don't believe in luck anyway. Collards are for paper money and the black-eyed peas are for the coins.

After supper we had communion with wine and sparkling grape juice and bread. Dad read from the Bible and then we ate bread to remember his broken body and drank wine for his spilled blood.

After that Will brought in the keyboard and we practiced singing worship songs and it was really fun. I knew the words to every song and I didn't even know I knew them.

Mom even held up a football and counted down and dropped it for those of us who missed the one in Times Square. It all worked out perfectly because it was earlier than last night so we all made it, but it's still late so I've got to hit the hay now.

Oh yeah, a fun thing happened today. When I wrote in my journal last night I sent the message to the Notify List that I had written in my journal. My Dad signed up on my notify list so he gets the emails telling him I've updated. He's been home so when he got it in the bedroom on his trio, he sent me an email to the computer in the classroom. After awhile I wrote an email to his trio again. This is how it went:

From: Johnny Caker
Sent: Sun, December 31, 2006 5:53 PM
To: [email protected]
Subject: Happy New Year!


I started telling about my Christmas after a long break from my journal
but I can't tell it all in one entry so I'm splitting it up.

Love,

John

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
----- Original Message -----
From: "Bill Allen"
To: "Johnny Caker"
Sent: Monday, January 01, 2007 5:01 PM
Subject: RE:Happy New Year!


I read your post. I can't wait for the rest of your Christmas story.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

From: "The Allen Family"
Sent: Mon, January 01, 2007 5:34 PM
To:
Subject: Re: RE:Happy New Year!


Thank you, Dad, that was a great email. I can't wait to write it. I love you. *kiss* *kiss*

Caker

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

----- Original Message -----
From: "Bill Allen"
To: "The Allen Family"
Sent: Monday, January 01, 2007 6:24 PM
Subject: Re: RE:Happy New Year!


And I love you right back. Happy New Year!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


From: "The Allen Family"
Sent: Mon, January 01, 2007 7:37 PM
To:
Subject: Re: RE:Happy New Year!


Thank you, Dad, you have the best emails ever! I'll always love you even when I'm all grown up!

Love,

Johnny Caker

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


----- Original Message -----
From: "Bill Allen"
To: "The Allen Family"
Sent: Monday, January 01, 2007 7:50 PM
Subject: Re: RE:Happy New Year!


I feel the same way. I'm having a great weekend with you. Keep up the
great job with your posts.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you, Father, for everything. Toodle-Loo, I've got to hit the hay!

Love,

Johnny Caker

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

That was so much fun!

I hope I'll get to write more about Christmas soon but it's a lot.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!