Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-08-25 - 7:11 a.m.

I finally heard the roosters crow. I love both of the roosters but the colorful one is the most nice to me.

I was so happy when I saw that a chicken had laid an egg, and then I realized it was one of our old chickens. None of our new chickens lay white eggs and it was white. It is about time for the new ones to start laying so I've been getting up early to go check. Mom says I don't give them enough time to lay any.

Yesterday I got up so early that I fell back asleep on the floor in the den. When Mom woke up she found a pot of hot coffee that I made and then she found me on the floor snoozing.

Even though I need an older kid to help me with the scientific reading, I'm learning a lot about the egg business.

At the health food store omega 3 free-range organic eggs are $5.39 a dozen. They have .225mg of omega 3 in each egg. It costs more to feed chickens flax seed so it would be cheaper for the customer to eat flax seeds themselves instead of wanting it in their eggs. I don't want to feed them flax seeds because that just seems silly.

Eggs like ours that are from free-range chickens with no antibiotics or hormones are $3.59 for a dozen large eggs at the health food store. We don't know how much the health food store paid the farmer yet.

We have to add up how much we pay for chickens, feed, oyster shells, cartons, labels, and whatever other costs are there. Then we have to decide what we need to make.

Mom says we want to make a good Jewish deal so the customer is happy and we are happy.

I'm learning to make change now.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!