Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-06-12 - 9:39 a.m.

I'm excited that we are going to the museum to see an exhibit on Napolean even though I don't know who Napolean is. I only know Will is studying about him in his thick western civilization book.

I don't remember the museum here. I remember the museums in Washington D.C., but I can't picture the museum here. I'm getting my museums confused.

I love museums, especially art museums. In Washington the art museum had lots of famous paintings we had studied. They were so beautiful! One was so beautiful that I reached up and touched it and my mom screamed. I don't know why they didn't have ropes around it. It was one of those paintings that is made with little dots of paint. The painting was tempting me to feel the dots. There wasn't anything to keep people from touching the famous paintings and, believe me, most children don't have good manners and could have ripped it. I just gently ran my fingers on it to feel the dots. My hands were clean.

I could have touched Vincent van Gogh's self-portrait! That's a really famous one. It is startling and frightening because he used bright orange in his hair and bright green on his face and hair. He's got a long nose and a skinny face like Ichabod Crane. Not the Johnny Depp Ichabod Crane, but the Norman Rockwell Ichabod Crane but with red hair. Even though Vincent van Gogh was a big nut, he was an interesting artist. He chopped off his own earlobe! He must have had a devil.

Vincent Van Gogh used lots of bright yellow so even his creepy paintings look sunny. "Yellow House" is beautiful and I like "Starry Night", too.

Dad taught me some new things in chess yesterday. I learned about castling. If you haven't moved your king or your rook, you can switch their sides and move them in one space. I tried to do it but it put me in check so I couldn't. That was disappointing.

We saw two snakes on Friday. One was a red-bellied water snake and the other was a black snake. It was all squiggled up and we thought it was dead. Spencer caught it and released it into the woods. The water snake slithered behind our thornless blackberries that Dad planted by the pond.

Sarah Grace went with Ma to Ma's class reunion in Hartsville. We missed Sarah a lot and not just because of the work she does. It isn't the same when someone is missing from the supper table. It's lame. I'm going to build a cabin in the woods when I get married so we'll always be together.

There are 17 Canada Geese on the pond right now. I tried to feed them some old bread but they swam off until I went inside. They aren't as friendly as usual. Maybe they'll warm up soon.

If I can get my turn on the computer, I'm thinking about writing shorter posts but more often because I started this at 9:30AM and it is now 11:25AM.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!