Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-04-04 - 12:00 p.m.

I'm going to ask Will to put a notify list on my journal so you can get an automatic email letting you know that I posted something new, if you want to. That way if you forget to come by here, it will remind you. I hope you sign up.

This morning Mom read poetry to us so I decided to write a poem. The first one I wrote didn't work because I was trying too hard just to make a rhyme:

When my mother needs a glass of tea
or a mug of beer,
I will gladly bring it here.

That was kinda funny but it didn't really make any sense. The next one I wrote makes more sense but it doesn't rhyme. Every single poem doesn't have to rhyme, you know.


OUT THE CORNER OF MY EYE
By John Anton Allen

It happens quite often, when I walk on our pretty porch
or
while I'm running to the workshop to help Dad
or
as I stroll down our happy lane,
that I see movement.

I quickly turn toward it,
but there is nothing there.

Perhaps it was a flitting bird
or
a twirling squirrel
or
a hoppy toad.

Was it a deer? A fox?

Could it be a raccoon? No, no, they come out at nighttime.

Can wolves or bears be seen in the daytime?
What about the creature of Frankenstein?
Was it a demon or the devil himself?

Nooooo--

It must have been a flash of the holy light from God's angels keeping watch over me!

They encamp about those who love the Lord to protect us from evil.

Oh, let us love the Lord!

And, Oh Lord, love us and keep your soldier angels at attention, and not at ease!


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!