Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-01-24 - 5:31 p.m.

I love the way Mom's long painted fingernails look when she turns the pages of the book she is reading to us. They are shiny and smooth and they make you want to fall in love.

The new big diamond ring my dad gave her sparkles like a chandelier. It makes her look like perfection.

We've been reading "The Wind in the Willows" by Kenneth Grahame. We've only read the first chapter but you should go to the library and pick up a copy! Mole and Rat have already had a big adventure when Mole tipped Rat's blue and white boat over. Rat told him to wait until he had lessons to scull, but Mole was so filled with jealousy he jumped up and seized the sculls, and Rat fell backwards off his seat with his legs in the air and Rat cried, "Stop it, you silly ass!" but Mole proceeded to tip the boat over and Rat had to fetch the luncheon-basket and recover the boat and right her. Rat hauled Mole out and Mole was a "squashy, pulpy lump of misery." Isn't that great words?

You are going to love the way Kenneth Grahame writes! His words are so politeful.

Mom says I sometimes write like William Faulkner because I make some very long sentences. William Faulkner was a writer. We have a friend who, when he was in college, drank whiskey with William Faulkner. He has great stories but I never heard them.

One time my dad drank blackberry brandy at Brown University because it was a tradition, but he never drank whiskey with William Faulkner.

I made up a recipe. Mom made some chunky applesauce with big chunks of apple and I put some on dough with cinnamon sugar and I rolled up the triangles and baked them in my oven. They tasted like Danishes.

We have been babysitting our neighbor's chocolate Lab puppies while they are at work. The little girl is a lover and the boy is an inspector. He tracks us down. Our neighbor gave us ten zoo passes for keeping them for a couple of weeks. I'm excited about going to the zoo!

We gave this same neighbor blood oranges for Christmas. They are red oranges like the color of red grapefruit but they are sweet. She used them in a recipe for Sea Bass. She said it was delicious. Do you think it sounds good? I would love to cook it with her. You can buy Sea Bass at The Fresh Market.

We also gave her country ham from Four Oaks Farm and Honeycrisp apples. They gave us pancake molds with Christmas designs like a snowflake and a reindeer and Christmas tree and a bottle of wine which was Pinot Noir, a kind of wine. I will get the cork for my collection when they finish drinking it.

Please go to Older Entries if you missed our Christmas picture. It is called "Santas and Elves". I don't want anybody to miss it. I don't think Ms. Eva has seen it because I haven't heard from her in awhile even after I sent her an email before our trip with that turkey that sings "I Will Survive", which was really funny. That turkey wasn't going to let that farmer chop her head off! I hope Ms. Eva is not sick but just busy.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!