Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-12-16 - 4:23 p.m.

Washington DC Part 2

We went to the Smithsonian Museums and we had matzo ball soup and knishes at the Holocaust Museum. It took us a few days to see the museums because they are humongous buildings. We saw a mummy and the mummy of a bull. It wasn't make-believe either. They really were real mummies!

We went to the Spy Museum and it had spy gadgets and an air duct that you could crawl in and spy on the visitors. I spied on Mom while she was watching a video on picking locks. A man waved to me. He must have already known about that air duct. We only had two and a half hours there but we needed more time because it was so good.

One of the best parts of the trip was the last night when we went to The Kennedy Center and saw The National Symphony Orchestra and a funny Jewish man named Marvin Hamlisch who conducted the NSO Christmas Pops. That's humorous because Jewish people don't have Christmas. He did a very fine job and he said he loves Christmas carols. The music was beautiful. I felt so glad. There were some black people who were gospel singers and they sang songs that made you want to cry... but not this big man. I felt like crying, but I didn't. When they sang one about falling on your knees, I could feel it in my chest, like it shocked me.

There was a children's choir and they were good, but they weren't as loud as the black people.

There was a beautiful violinist who played Ave Maria and she was graceful and she wore a long red dress and she looked like she floated or slid onstage, like she glided without making big steps. She and her dress flowed, I guess you'd say. Her hair was down and she was so beautiful.

We had box seats and we had a whole box to ourselves.

Before the show, we ate at the fancy restaurant upstairs. I LOVED that restaurant! I felt like a gentleman with my suit and tie on. I wish I had a bow tie and a tuxedo.

I ordered the duck for myself but I tasted Will's veal. I couldn't finish it because I had too much lunch and I was too excited to eat.

Guess what happened to me? Ma told the server that I wanted to be a chef and she took me in the kitchen and I met the chef! He showed me where they rolled out the dough and I saw where they kept the desserts in a big fridge, but it was a rectangle like a casket and you had to lift the lid.

The desserts were fantastic! I got homemade ice cream but I got to try other's desserts. Will got a cappucino dessert that was in a chocolate cup and saucer. You can even eat the dishes!

It was all very elegant with the Christmas tree and mirrors and candles and white tablecloths and a beautiful view of Washington. My duck cost $30 but Mom said not to tell people how much things cost. She said I could put it in my journal but not to talk about it when I tell about the trip.

It snowed twice!

We are busy getting ready for Christmas and I have much more to tell you but I don't know when.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!