Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-10-04 - 5:00 p.m.

Yesterday Mom read a book to us called Pancakes, Pancakes! by Eric Carle. He grew up in Germany like my Oma and Opa only he was born in New York. Oma and Opa were born in Germany and then moved to New York City to open a bake shop.

Pancakes, Pancakes! is about a boy who wakes up wanting a pancake. His mother has him get the wheat and take it to the miller. The miller grinds the wheat to flour after they thresh it. Then the boy has to get an egg from the hen, milk from the cow, churn the cream to butter, build a fire, get jam from the cellar, mix up the batter, cook it up in a pan, and then he eats it. It was a lot of work!

After Mom read the book to us, we went in the kitchen and she poured some cream and a little bit salt in a big Mason jar and put the lid on it. We shaked it up... all of us young guns took turns. We had a jolly time! The cream got like whipped cream and then it got clumpy and very pale yellow. It was butter! We put it on whole wheat toast with homemade jam and it was delicious.

We also read some Chris Van Allsburg books. Some of them are clever but kind of creepy.

Today I dug up that piece of wood I was telling you about. It was just a small piece of wood with ants all in it. I was hoping it led to something else.

Mom and I walked over to where they are clearing the pasture. I was surprised by how many acres are over there. It is huge.

Mom and I ate some blueberries off our bushes on the way over to the pasture. Can you believe there are some plump, sweet, juicy ones still on the bushes?

We just used the blower to blow leaves off the deck and it is already covered again. It's just like something you would see on Tom and Jerry.

The newspaper said the leaves won't have much color this year because it didn't rain in September. I can't really remember the leaves turning so many colors. Mom said they should take me to Vermont to see the leaves. She had the very best pancake of her life at a bed and breakfast in Vermont. It was whole wheat with blackberries, maple syrup, and country bacon. She'll never forget it. Can you believe somebody could care that much about a pancake?

This morning when they went out to feed the animals and milk the goats, Will saw the chicken run full of feathers. There was a hole under the door of the run. He followed the feathers to the garden fence and saw a decapitated chicken stuck in the fence. It was partly skinned. I think it was a fox who tried to pull it through the fence but it got stuck so her head popped off. That's happened before. Will buried her.

That's a sad thing to end my entry on so I'll tell you that my birthday is November 2nd. I'll be seven years old! I'm hoping for a toy crossbow with suction arrows and a real regular bow and arrows.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!