Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2009-01-14 - 11:44 a.m.

My father left for Denver to meet with his colleagues in a huge hotel for their once a year conference. If I get a lot of school work done while he's gone, he said he'll be happy to take me anywhere with him in his travels.

Last time he took me to Gainesville and I saw Percy Harvin and Tim Tebow in real life. Percy Harvin is a bullet. I saw him run with my own eyes. Tim Tebow is Hercules or some other Greek or Roman god statue.

After begging Mom to let me watch Building Great Sentences: Exploring the Writer's Craft by Professor Brooks Landon, she finally agreed to let me sit in with the older kids. Every time I've watched a lecture or read something about writing or style, I've understood it. I told her she shouldn't hinder my education just because it is a college course. She agreed, as long as I do elementary school and my chores.

We've had to bring the dogs in almost every night since the temperature has gone below freezing. We are having the coldest weather in nearly a quarter century! It is supposed to get down to 10 degrees on Saturday. If we'd just get some moisture down here, we could get some snow. That is a Southern boy's dream.

We chopped a couple of truckloads of wood, I bet. We filled the wood bins, and stacked up two walls in the carport. We can stay warm with the wood and the 0 degree sleeping bags, I'm sure. We also have hot chocolate, coffee, and a huge selection of tea from The Republic of Tea. It was in the 20's when I went out to do my farm chores and I can't imagine how cold 10 degrees is. "Great, I got that "excited/scared" feeling. Like 98% excited, 2% scared. Or maybe it's more - It could be two - it could be 98% scared, 2% excited but that's what makes it so intense, it's so - confused. I can't really figure it out." (Owen Wilson- Armageddon)

I sure wish some of you, dear readers, would sometimes write in my comments section or email me because I'm not allowed to surf around and read journals. This feels awfully one-sided. Mrs. Sarah's laptop is down so she only has her work computer, but I know she's not my only reader, and that there are real people behind those counter hits. I don't mean to sound needy or selfish or pushy. I would just like to say, "How do you do? And, nice to meet you!"


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!