Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2008-01-04 - 3:24 p.m.

Christmas has past. We are taking our Christmas tree down now. Where do I begin?

Here are some pictures of my grandmother's house at Christmastime -

Before Christmas, Ma took us to Biltmore House to see all the Christmas trees and decorations. There were over 50 trees. The biggest tree was empty-looking between the limbs but it was beautiful with the ornaments. The other trees were formal and pretty but kind of ordinary. Frankly, our Christmas tree is much better. Ours has much more color with royal purple and blue and rich reds and gold and the colors were like jewels and they were metallic and shiny.

We ate in the restaurant at Biltmore that used to be the stables. We were in the hay loft. I had to order from the kids' menu and it had the usual: chicken strips (4 of them) and macaroni and cheese. The other choices on kids' menus are a burger or hot dog or a grilled cheese sandwich. At seafood restaurants the kids' shrimp plate has only four fried shrimp! Can you believe that? Lucky for me, Mom and Sarah Grace give me some of theirs. Sarah shared her country barbecue and Mom shared her pot roast that had fried onions on top. It was delicious.

We had a lot of fun seeing an American castle and shopping in the shops. Everybody should see Biltmore. It's an American institution!

We went to Ma's house for Christmas Eve but Dad stayed home with Webb because Webb was getting a cold and slept through supper. We brought Dad a plate home.

The next morning for Christmas breakfast Ma came over to eat and see us open our presents.

Will got Photoshop and a case for his tripod. Sarah Grace got a diamond ring in an antique-like setting. The gold looks carved out. It is called filligree. Spencer got NIKE stock and a Gator jacket. James got an art curriculum. Webb got his Hess truck, as usual, and he also got a remote control plane that flies like an eagle. I got a kids' laptop that has a color screen and a Gator t-shirt. Georgie got a three man slingshot and it is powerful! Richard got a Geotrax train set. We also got an ESPN electronic football table and a yellow Kett car. And we young guns got real WWII helmets and canteens and a back pack and Richard got a kepi and we also got dummy grenades. It's been too cold to play in the woods but we can't wait.

God hates war but sometimes a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do. It is fun to pretend you're a man doing man things and then one day if I'm called to go to war, maybe I won't be so scared if I've already imagined myself on a battlefield. I don't mind telling you that I don't want to go to war but I will if I have to. I knew after I learned about Hitler that sometimes you have to go to war to stop something worse. I'll never forget a documentary that I saw about Hitler. It was horrifying. We'll never have peace until Jesus sets up his kingdom. And that's why we're in a hurry for him to come back to get us and then later set up his kingdom for one thousand years on Earth. And then the rest is heaven.

We're going to the High Museum of Art Atlanta and Louvre Atlanta. The last time I was in an art museum was The National Gallery of Art in Washington DC. My mother almost had a heart attack when I reached up and touched George Seurat's Seascape at Port-en-Bessin, Normandy, 1888 -



It was so beautiful that I had to touch it. Don't get me wrong, I'll never do it again, but the colors were so beautiful in little dots up close. It was like how you can look at certain wallpaper with your eyes crossed and it goes in and back out when you uncross your eyes. My hands were clean and I barely felt it. I wasn't thinking about it; it just kind of drew me to it. You wouldn't believe all the colors in it up close. I hope they don't ever put up ropes so everybody can see what I saw. Maybe they should have a guard that reminds children not touch it but you can still be able to see it up close.


|

�

previous - next

�

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!