Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-07-26 - 11:04 a.m.

We've got a big pot of peanuts boiling on the stove. "Bald" peanuts are a Southern thing. I didn't know some things we eat are Southern. I just thought it was regular stuff. I thought everybody ate boiled peanuts with icy beer.

I'm learning a lot about food and food traditions and especially about healthy food.

Mom and Sarah Grace want a cow. They can find raw whole cow's milk but they can't find any place to buy raw cream and butter. Our goat's milk is naturally homogenized so it is hard to make butter. You need a machine to separate it and it is a hassle. Margarine is bad for you. Raw butter is better. I've never had margarine but Mom bought it before. She used to buy sugar and American cheese and lots of things before I was born.

Sarah has been studying nutrition for a long time and she is very excited about culinary school starting up again in August. Culinary school doesn't teach nutrition. She learns that from nutritionists, the Bible, and wisdom from God. She made blueberry muffins this morning from freshly ground whole wheat, buttermilk, and honey. They were delicious!

Sarah knows how to make yogurt and today she is making creme fraiche for her homemade salad dressing. She is into cultured food and fermented food.

Summer is a great time for fresh fruits and vegetables too. Mom and Sarah Grace came home yesterday with a bounty from the market. They went to Four Oaks Farm and 14 Carrot. We'll be eatin' high on the hog!

Yesterday was Johnny Browder and Mrs. BJ's anniversary. We tried to call them to sing to them before Dad went out-of-town but their line was busy. We must have dialed it 1,000 times. I'm exaggerating but we did keep clicking redial. Dad finally had to go to NC and Mom and Sarah had to pick up Ma.

Dad is taking the oldest three kids traveling the Southeast with him. They will take turns and they will learn finance and see businesses and hotels and restaurants and lots of sights. I can't go until I'm old enough to stay in a hotel room by myself in case he has to go to a meeting alone. Maybe I can go if I'm with an older kid.

Sarah went with Dad to Charlotte last week or so and he took her to Monticello and she had French onion soup, shrimp and grits, and creme brulee. Then they went barhopping and saw the city. She had a blast! I can't wait to go to nice restaurants with Dad sometime. At Monticello the waiter put Sarah's napkin in her lap for her and they pick a napkin that matches your clothes.

I think I can put my napkin in my own lap. That just seems weird.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!