Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2007-06-14 - 12:53 p.m.

Sometimes cooking is like science experiments. We experiment with recipes all the time especially when we quit using white sugar. We use honey, Sucanat, and Rapadura.

Rapadura is like little dirt clods in dirt. It is great in coffee and sprinkled on oatmeal with cinnamon but Sucanat is best for cooking. It has granules that are the same size. So far it has worked in all our recipes except the sweet potato souffle was darker and duller looking, but it tasted great! We are going to try to make jam with it this year.

I made Miss Eva's zucchini gratin and it was delicious! It had all sorts of melty cheese with chiles and dill seed. The topping was buttery saltine cracker crumbs with parmesan cheese all browned up (even though Miss Eva used bread crumbs.)

My parents say my taste is sophisticated for a little boy. I like many different flavors that kids don't usually like like beer and bitter things like coffee and lots of cheeses. I like wine and strange spices and tastes. I'm an unusual kid in ways. I was just born like that.

Now that we have the three bay stove, Mom scrambles eggs on one side while I fry sunny side up eggs for Dad and me on the other side. This new stove is going to make it easier for me to get to cook.

Miss Eva has a picture of a white plate with just bacon, a little cheesy omelet with something green sprinkled on top, and sliced up orange peppers and it looks so delicious! I could make that. I know I could.

We have a nice full set of Sue Gregg cookbooks but I like the Southern Living cookbooks because they have lots of pictures and I'm a Southerner. We also have Mrs. Wilkes' cookbook for most of our home cooking. You should go to her restaurant in Savannah. She's dead now but her restaurant is still there. It is very famous.

One time we went to Paula Deen's restaurant called The Lady and Sons and our waitress suddenly started singing the blues really loud. It startled us. I didn't like it as much as everybody else liked it. (I hope she doesn't read this.) My family likes Mrs. Wilkes' restaurant best because it's more homey. We should go back soon since I don't remember everything.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!