Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-07-17 - 9:05 a.m.

Dad gave us swimmimg lessons over the weekend and he also taught us how to float. He just showed me once, and ever since then, I float like a bar of Ivory soap! I can put my hands behind my head and float, and I can put my arms by my side and float like a stick. I'm the best floater in the whole family. They each are better than me at something, but I'm the best floater so far. I could float for hours if people didn't keep bumping into me.

I already know how to swim under water, but I'm learning how to swim on top of the water without splashing so much and getting somewhere faster. Don't bend your knees when you kick and slice the water with your hands instead of slapping it.

We had water chestnuts and those little tiny ears of corn in our vegetables last night. We also had fish because we need to eat more oily fish. We need more omega 3 fatty acids. We want to learn to grill fish steaks. We've never done that.

On Saturday we had chili and beer bread and, man, beer bread is one of the best breads there is. It's very simple to make:

Beer Bread (1 loaf)

3 cups self-rising flour
1/4 cup sugar
1 bottle light or dark beer

Stir it all together and put it in a greased loaf pan. Bake it in a preheated 375 degree oven for about an hour or a little less. You should check on it at the end so that it doesn't get too dark, like at about 55 minutes. We double the recipe because one loaf isn't enough.

After you put it in the oven, you should make some honey butter because the honey butter is what makes it. Soften a stick of butter, then drizzle a medium size drizzle of honey on the butter and stir it up. If you need more honey, add more. If you put too much, then soften another stick of butter and add to it until you get it right.

We had a waffle breakfast Sunday morning because George and I thought of it. It was really, really, good with bacon and maple syrup.

We also had watermelon again after lunch. It was a great weekend for swimming and food. I can't wait to learn how to grill fish steaks.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!