Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-04-17 - 9:31 a.m.

On Good Friday we heard meowing at the workshop and we found six little kittens. Two of them were already dead and four of them were very sick, and they were dying. Their eyes were stuck together with puss all over them. Mom and Sarah tried to clean their eyes. Sarah gently touched one kitten's little eye and the infection just poured out of it. Hopefully it won't be blind.

Sarah gave the kittens an antibiotic and taught them how to eat and they are eating like little piggies. Their mom abandoned them so they are in our little bathroom in a box. We found them in the nick of time because they were starving to death.

My sister, Sarah Grace, loves animals and she is animal smart. She should be a vet. She's stuck her arms up in goats to help them have their kids when the kid was stuck or in there backwards or sideways or crooked. She's nursed sick animals like squirrels and bunnies and goats and kittens and she can take their temperature and give them medicine and shots. She's not afraid to help animals.

Sarah is very pretty and she takes care of us, too. She also makes the best biscuits. She helps me with math, too. I love her.

Sarah and Richard in Washington:


Sarah and me:


Sarah and Will after The Kennedy Center performance:


Sarah should be a vet, or a midwife like my Mom's midwife. Will should be a scientist, Spencer should do the stock market, James should be a singer, George should be a businessman, and I should be a chef.

Good Friday was exciting because we found the kittens before they all died but sad because two died and because the first Good Friday was when Jesus hung on the cross and died. I'm glad Jesus went to all that trouble for us, so that we can be holy, but I wish it didn't have to happen that way. I feel sad that his hands and feet were nailed and that he was betrayed and unloved and spit on. And that crown of thorns had to hurt. I don't want to talk about it because I just can't even say all that I feel.

On Saturday we went with Ma to Florence to put flowers on people's graves. The first cemetery we went to has Ma's family from way back. Also, one of the graves we put flowers on is a Confederate soldier. Before we left, Ma had a bag of Easter eggs so we hid them in the church yard so the little children would see them the next morning. We were going to fill them with coupons but the magazines Ma grabbed on the way out were the kind that don't have coupons but it was fun anyway.

Next, we went to put flowers on Hank's mother's grave. Richard put two Easter eggs by the flowers. In that cemetery there is a huge grave that has a long bench and when you sit on it, you see that the grave slabs are on a gigantic map of South Carolina. The left side even has raised mountains that you can walk on, and the right side has the Atlantic Ocean.

After we decorated the graves we went to Cain's Barbeque and I had one of the most delicious salads ever! Cain's has a buffet, and when I got to the Jello-like salads, an old black man that works there pointed out which one I should try. It had pineapple and cherries and little marshmallows and whipped cream and coconut and maybe some pinkish-red jello. I don't really know what was making it pink but it was so good that I couldn't get it off my mind. I shook the old black man's hand when we left and I told him that I thought it was D-licious! He put his left hand firmly on the back of my right hand while we shook, and we knew we were together.

When we got home, we found out that Mrs. Pam had come by and brought us a humongous Easter basket stuffed with all sorts of goodies. It had candy and peanut butter bars and a video and gift certificates to an ice cream parlor and Outback Steakhouse! She also gave us a yard game called bocce. We were so sad we missed seeing her. We should have been here.

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you that before we left for Florence we dyed eight dozen Easter eggs. Even Webb dyed eggs and he loved it!

One exciting thing on Easter was that Mom let me make two salads. One was carrot salad and it had raisins and shedded carrots and crushed pineapple and two tablespoons of frozen orange juice out of the can still frozen. It was stuck together with a little bit of Miracle Whip. The other salad we made up with what we had already. It was lime Jello with fruit cocktail and apples and pineapple chunks and little marshmallows and cherries all stirred up and stuck together with whipped cream. Everybody loved it! My dad kept gobbling it up because he loved it so much. It was the hit of the meal! We also had ham and roasted vegetables like asparagus, sweet potatoes, carrots, onions, and brussel sprouts with a little olive oil and salt and pepper.

Dad picked up petit fours at the bakery for a surprise for Sarah on Friday because she always wanted to have one but never did. They were once served at a political thing she went to and she wanted one but since they weren't staying long, she thought she better not. Dad got a dozen cube shaped ones and a dozen little Easter eggs. The cubes were white with different colored little flowers on it and the Easter eggs were pale yellow with the same little flowers all in Easter colors.

You're not going to believe what just happened while I was writing this post. James found another litter of kittens!

Stray cats always have kittens here. If we can catch them, we take them to the animal shelter and they fix them so they can't have any more babies. We've caught about seven or so already.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!