Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-03-13 - 10:06 a.m.

We were outside most of the weekend. Spring must be near because the old bullfrog on the pond is doing his loud and low and deep croak. Everything is alive! The flowers are blooming, the toads and insects and frogs and birds are chirping and humming and croaking and whistling. It's like nature's orchestra!

We had the windows up all weekend and we had the ceiling fans on. We have a very high ceiling in our den with two ceiling fans and many windows that look out over the pond and windows in the loft and under the loft where we have a huge dining table that is twelve feet long in front of a big window that you can see the pasture out of. It feels like you're outside when we open all the windows and put on all the fans.

When the fresh smell of the cool breeze is flowing in the house and all the creatures are whistling and humming and the chickens are clucking and the sheep are baa-ing, and you can hear the train choo-chooing near town, it makes the world sleepy-feeling like we should all take a nap.

Nature seems so friendly that I want to go out and whistle to the birds to see if they will come to me.

I can't believe that just a week or so ago the grass was icy when we went out to go exercising. When Sarah, Mom, and I went around the circle of the driveway, the sun was coming up in front of us and the grass of the yard and the field looked sparkly like crystals. It looked like all the shiny flashes of light in Mom's diamond ring that Dad gave her. It was so beautiful and bright! It had red, green, blue, and white. The grass was frozen crunchy under my shoes! I wish it had snowed-- maybe next year.

We threw the football with Dad yesterday. My throwing is getting very good and long and spirally.

George got a bruise in the middle of the field when Spencer's kick accidentally sent the ball into George's eye. It was red yesterday but today it is bluish-red. It's a shiner.

We had fish for supper last night but it was too spicy for me. Mom found me a piece with less spice and Dad took my piece. We had it with wild rice and asparagus and carrots and onions and peppers and maybe some other vegetables but I can't remember. It was mixed vegetables.

Ma sent James home with Krispy Kreme doughnuts and some of us had one at breakfast time. When Mom doesn't cook breakfast, she puts out a choice for us on the table. This weekend our choices were: cantaloupe, honeydew, bananas, whole wheat English muffins, whole wheat bagels, rice pudding, yogurt, cereal, raisin bread, and grapefruit. I had honeydew, cantaloupe, grapefruit, rice pudding, yogurt, and two doughnuts but not all on the same day.

Mom also bought chocolate milk which she never hardly ever does. In fact, this is the first time I ever remember her buying it. Sometimes she lets us put Hershey's syrup in our milk but I don't remember ever getting it already mixed up except at a restaurant. It is so creamy chocolaty good that I'm going to get some now!



|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!