Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2006-01-17 - 5:56 p.m.

If you want to see our Christmas picture, you can click on "previous" down at the bottom of this post, or click on "older entries" and then "Santas and Elves."

I watched some of "24" last night and it is not the show for me. DON'T LET YOUR KIDS WATCH "24"! I like being with Mom and Dad and Sarah but "24" is too much for me. There was a part where a terrorist killed a hostage, and even though I turned my head, I still knew what was happening! I wanted to cry. I felt terrible. The other kids that are awake play PlayStation during "24", so I should just go in the room with them. I just can't take it.

Last night was a great and delicious supper, and it was so easy to make! I'll tell you how:

Baked Chicken and Roasted Vegetables

1. Put chicken pieces in a pan with a little oil or melted butter and salt and pepper it. We used chicken breasts because they were on sale. In one of your ovens, cook it until it is tender and brown. Keep putting the juice over it while it cooks so it won't be dry or rubbery. The skin will get a little bit crispy.

2. Meanwhile, get out your big square roasting pan that is 15 1/2"x 15 1/2"x 3". Peel and cut up in chunks some sweet potatoes and turnips and onions and acorn squash or butternut squash (whatever you have), and throw in whole Brussel sprouts after you cut the ends off and remove the dirty leaves. Drizzle a little bit of olive oil on all of it and salt and pepper.

3. Make a big bowl out of foil and put it in the corner of the pan. Take six or so beets and cut off the leaves and peel and cut them into squares. Put them in the foil bowl. That keeps the beet juice from turning the other vegetables purple. In the olden days they used beets for dye.

4. Put the big pan of vegetables in the other hot oven until they get softer, but not mushy.

And that's it! Sometimes we put in asparagus and carrots and red potatoes.

Beets are very tasty. They are sweet, but not too sweet. They have flavor in them sorta like the garden dirt, but they're good. It's hard to explain the taste. They taste like the sweet Earth.

I meant to tell you... we saw a rainbow on Christmas Day! It had both ends to it and the colors were very strong. It was huge and it looked so solid that I wanted to climb it. We've never seen a rainbow on Christmas Day before. We saw a big rainbow in Tombstone Arizona and everybody said that was unusual.

James is a great brother. I wouldn't ever want to hurt his feelings by saying he had a weird smiley face. I want to take that back because I want him to trust me always. I didn't mean anything by it except that he looked different than usual. He's very handsome... and he's a great singer!


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!