Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-12-27 - 6:18 p.m.

I haven't even finished telling you about Washington, and now there is so much about Christmas that I don't know where to start!

On the day before Christmas Eve, we all got in the van and went to a town named Hartsville. My grandmother has a friend there named Ann who never married and never had any children. Her cousin also never married. We went to Hartsville to sing for them and take them to dinner. We also sang for another friend of Ma's named W.C. and his wife. They all loved us! I feel like a movie star.

On Christmas Eve we went around singing to different friends of my grandmother again. Mom ran out of time to cook all of our Christmas Eve supper so we just had turkey, macaroni and cheese, green beans, crescent rolls and cranberry sauce. I'm not kidding! Mom said it is better to have a little meal than to rush around to make a big meal and get all cranky, so we ate our little meal in the den and watched football. Carolina almost won! It was fun. After we ate, we went out singing again. I felt a little embarrassed singing, but it was such a good thing to do because they all loved us. I know we made a lot of people very happy. They squeezed us tight and said we made their Christmas!

On the way home we went around looking at Christmas lights. That will really put you in the Christmas spirit, and we know all the best places to go. We hurried home so we could get to sleep fast so Christmas would come sooner.

The next morning we came out in the den and George said he wanted a flying skateboard. We told him there was no such thing so when he got a training wheel bicycle, he was very happy.

When I first saw my package with a big red velvet bow, I had no idea what it was. I opened it and saw that it was my own REAL oven! I got a Hamilton Beach toaster oven! It's big! You can roast a chicken in it! I was so happy I thought I was going to pop out of my clothes! And guess what I did Christmas morning? I took some dough and cut it in little triangles and wrapped it around tiny cocktail sausages. You know, they are called Little Smokies. The dough is a yeast dough, not a cookie dough or biscuit dough. I put them in my oven and baked them up for everyone for Christmas breakfast appetizers. They are so good. They have a smoky flavor but not too salty. The dough gets crispy and flaky and you can hear them sizzling when they are almost done. The dough puffs up around the little sausages. Make sure you cook them golden brown so the dough in the middle isn't gummy.

I also got some guns for Christmas. They aren't real guns, they are cap guns. Dad said if I take good care of them, one day I will get a real BB gun. I'm not old enough yet. There's not a set age, it's all about maturity. Spencer got his BB gun when he was eight or nine, I think. He got his first shotgun when he was eleven or twelve. James was nine when he got his BB gun.

I think it would be fun if we all went hunting and I roasted the deer. Mom made shredded deer meat sandwiches sort of like barbeque sandwiches. I don't know how I would cook it, maybe like a roast.

On Christmas Day we went to my grandmother's house to eat. She lives in a big Victorian style house that always looks Christmasy. She has trees and decorations everywhere! She has nice china and crystal and lots of food.

We gave Ma the trip to DC for Christmas but we also got her a charm of a Christmas tree and I gave her a charm of two hearts. She gave me fondue pots! I can melt chocolate in them to dip all sorts of stuff. I'm getting a nice collection of cooking tools. You wouldn't believe all the utensils and aprons and nice things I have!

Here is a list of all the food we had for Christmas:

turkey
dressing
giblet gray
macaroni and cheese
cranberry sauce
roast pork
ham
okra
crowder peas
butter peas
butter beans
mustard greens
green beans
sweet potato souffle
wild rice
corn
biscuits
crescent rolls
crabapples
chocolate nut truffles
chocolate pecan pie
sweet potato pie
tassies
cookies
gingerbread men

I can't remember any more right now but that was enough! Mom cooked our Christmas supper the day after Christmas since we ate at Ma's on Christmas.

I'm so happy I can't describe how wonderful a Christmas it was. It's too much, and you just have to be here to believe it.

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you! Dad chopped down a tree and there were flying squirrels in it! We have two of them in a cage in the half bathroom by the laundry room. They are so cute! Dad bought the mesh to make their cage tonight. They love people and they'll curl up in your shirt pocket and run up on your head and down your arm. We haven't named them yet. We saw "The Aviator" last week and, since the squirrels fly, we were thinking about naming one Howard and one Hughes. Or one Spruce and one Goose. We don't know yet. In "It's a Wonderful Life", Uncle Billy has a pet squirrel too!

Dad got "Fantastic Four" from Blockbuster as a surprise for us.

Oh! Mom got me a coffee mug from Barnes and Noble that has Dick and Jane and Sally and Spot and Puff and it says "Read with Dick and Jane." It has Mother in a chair reading to them. Richard got one that says "See Dick read." And George's says "Fun with Dick and Jane." I just love Dick and Jane books. They are so homey and warm.

I'll write more later. I have so much happening that I don't have time to write, and I still want to tell you more about DC, like the Supreme Court. We got to listen to arguments but no one was really arguing, they were just talking.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!