Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-12-22 - 7:00 p.m.

Washington DC Part 3

Before I tell you more about the trip, I want to tell you about what happened yesterday.

Yesterday us Young Guns dressed in elf outfits with jingle bells and the older kids dressed in Santa hats and Santa aprons and we went to the hair shop. Ma and Mom and Sarah Grace go there to get their hair cut.

We met Dad and Ma there and we sang "If You Love Jesus" and "We Wish You a Merry Christmas and a Jesus-filled Year" and James sang a solo which was "O Holy Night" (that's the one with "fall on your knees") and he did GREAT! I was surprised he didn't mess up because the hair shop had music in the background.

It was so beautiful that two women started crying! Mrs. Kat was one. I don't know her last name so I call her Mrs. Kat. The other one was Mrs. Pam Smith but everybody always calls her Pam so I don't really know what to call her because if I call her Mrs. Smith they won't know who I'm talking about. I'm not allowed to call her Pam and Mrs. Pam Smith is too much, don't you think? Perhaps I should call her Miz Pam. Mom said she'll think about it and let me know. Mom doesn't like it when children call grown ups by their first name even if they put the Mrs. or Mr. in front. Anyway, Mrs. Pam Smith cried the hardest and she is very nice. She wants to come to our house and I'm so glad!

Another lady at the hair shop was Mrs. Murff. She kept saying she could eat me up. She doesn't really want to eat me up, she means she loves me and she can't get enough of me. I love her, too. She is beautiful with her gentle talk.

I love all the ladies there. One lady named Lois took pictures of us! They were all very nice to us and they stopped the hair dryers and they listened to us sing and they let us hug and kiss them. We gave them each a bucket of tassies. Tassies are little pies with chocolate chips and pecans in little tiny pie shells made with cream cheese. We wished them all a Merry Christmas and then we went next door and got hotdogs and chips and drinks. Mrs. Kat made us a plate of goodies with different kinds of cookies!

Dad came over to the hotdog restaurant. Well, it isn't really a restaurant it is more like a joint. He came over because he was so proud of us. He came from work to conduct us.

After all that, we went to Four Oaks Farms which is a very nice country store and we bought ham and sausage and vegetables for Christmas.

Today we got a case of Honeycrisp apples from UPS. Mom ordered them for Christmas. They are so crispy and they have a not too tart and not too sweet flavor. They are the most perfect apple ever made. I can't wait to have them on oatmeal tomorrow with half and half. We got 100 apples! They will keep for four months in the refrigerator but even though we have two refrigerators, we don't have room for 100 apples! Mom said the ten of us will eat them up before we know it.

We also made Christmas sugar cookies today and we mixed up the dough to make gingerbread men tomorrow.

My exciting things are running together so hopefully I'll be able to tell you more about DC tomorrow because I've run out of time tonight.

I don't want to forget to tell you about the White House and Arlington Cemetery. We saw the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier with the sun setting and snow was on the ground and it was December 7 when the flag was only halfway up the pole. It had a sad feeling, but it was a beautiful feeling too. I can't describe it.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!