Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-08-15 - 7:34 p.m.

Charleston SC Part II

(Continued from previous entry)


Charleston is a splendid city. It has more impressive sights and more excitement than my city.

As we drove around Charleston, my dad would stop and give us history lessons. He is a history lover.

My dad works in a very tall and important building here. You have to get on the Interstate to get to it. If you go too far, you'll be near the fairgrounds.

He also has a bank in Charleston. It is not tall but it is old and it has a lot of interesting history. He likes working at that bank but he doesn't like being away from us. The Charleston bank is a sandy color.

My dad is in business. He gives people money. He doesn't really give it to them; he sorta sells it to them. He gave some people money to build a medical clinic. He gave some other people money to buy an oil field.

Before we went across the new Ravenel Bridge, Dad stopped at Starbucks to get himself a cup of coffee and he got us each mocha frappuccinos with a scrumptious dollop of whipped cream on top. The whipped cream must have been homemade because it did NOT taste like the stuff in the can. It was creamier and tastier. We were delighted. AND it fit perfectly in my cup holder!

Once we crossed the Cooper River, we saw the Yorktown aircraft carrier and container ships and a submarine and helicopters and... "Augustus, save some for later."

Sometimes I just say lines from movies and it bugs Mom because she doesn't remember all the lines like I do.

I'm glad I got to use the word splendid in my entry because I've been waiting for a chance to use it. Charleston really is splendid though... I'm not just saying that.

I got in a little bit of trouble on our trip because I was talking too much. Dad kept telling me to quit it but I would start it up again. I don't know why I do that. Will didn't help because he called me Sir Talksalot. Name-calling isn't helpful. Talking too much is about the only thing I get in trouble for, but, boy, do I get in trouble for it!

Dad really wants to take us to Europe. We want to see the places we've studied together in our homeschool. He said I would love Paris... for one, it's beautiful, and for two, I want to be a chef.

Poogan's Porch was very fine, but Mom's homemade chicken pot pie tonight was just as good... especially the crust!


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!