Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Diaryland
Profile
www.milkandhoneyacres.com


2005-03-27 - 6:39 p.m.

I'll tell you about Easter. Yesterday our neighbor, Mrs. (Neighbor), brought us cookies on a stick! I never had a cookie on a stick before. They were decorated as a shape of an egg and they were colored in Eastery colors and they had squiggly lines like an Easter egg. They had colorful ribbons. They made me feel Easterfulish and happy and delighted.

Last night we also dyed eggs. I must have dyed sixteen. Richard drank some of the dye water.

When we woke up this morning we saw our baskets and lots of candy. I ate a sweet tart that tasted so bad that it almost made me faint. I was spitting it out all over my shirt and a paper towel. Mom cracked up because it was a dye tablet, not a sweet tart, that I ate. It was chartreuse and it was gross.

For the feast we had lamb. Mom stabbed it with a knife and stuck lots garlic in it. Then she put olive oil and thyme and rosemary all over it and it made a crust. We had roasted carrots, new potatoes, onions, asparagus, and sweet potatoes. We also had a ham. I like ham and lamb. My favorite is the lamb. Sarah Grace made biscuits. She used Mrs. Wilkes recipe. Mrs. Wilkes is dead but her restaurant is in Savannah. We went to The Lady and Sons too but it wasn't as good as Mrs. Wilkes.

We're going to have pink coconut cake tonight in a minute and we're going to watch a movie.

ADDED MONDAY MORNING:

I'm going to try to start writing in my journal in the morning because at night I am so sleepy that I hurry through it and it's not fun anymore and I forget to tell you things I meant to tell you.

I forgot to tell you about a game we play on Easter called tuft. Everybody gets an egg and we take turns tapping them against someone elses egg. Whoever's egg doesn't crack, wins. If your egg cracks, you just peel it and eat it with salt and your choice of mustard.

This morning when we woke up we saw that the wind blew some of the Easter eggs out of our yard and onto our pond! We have big yard eggs that are as big as watermelons floating on our pond! They're spinning around all over the place except for one that is stuck in a big patch of algae.

I was so sleepy last night that I missed the cake and the movie. They saved me a piece though.

Mom is going to make strawberry shortcake too because it is Webb's favorite and it's a tradition. She ran out of time, and besides, there was enough coconut cake left over.

I love it when you come out on Easter morning and everybody's so happy and you have the wish of finding the golden egg. Spencer is the only one to find the golden egg so far. Whenever you find the golden egg you just leave it so the next kid gets a shot.

Jesus raising from the dead was tricky, but smart. I didn't think about him so much yesterday and that is his big holiday. I slept through Bible time and, of course, Dad didn't let me get a pillow but I fell asleep anyway. I'm going to think about Jesus today since I missed it yesterday. We didn't go to the church yesterday but I want to go today to celebrate God but they're not open. I don't know why we didn't go to church.


|

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!